Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.6 Rating 1,307 Reviews
63 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Flew out to Poland the security check through was a joke queued out the doors gates being turned off because of back log then turned on poor show Edinburgh airport
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Has to be the worst experience of our lives. Landed on Christmas day with no trolleys available by the carousel and so we couldn't take all our bags outside the border double auto doors. Some bags were left inside and we could not go back in to get them. Had a 9 month baby crying and exhausted. No staff member willing to help and the border force being really rude.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Absolutely fantastic, easy to use and man there to help you with your keys , takes 2 minutes and straight through , brilliant service , five stars will always park here and fly from here , staff amazing 🤩 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
my wife and I both 87 could not have better or I should say excellent service at The airport ,we both put in a wheelchair and escorted to passport control where we were taken straight out passed a queue of must have been 200 people and went to baggage reclaim where the assistant loaded our luggage onto a trolley and then proceeded to take us to a awaiting taxi ,I cannot compliment the service I received too highly keep it up Edinburgh you done great.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Having arrived back in Edinburgh myself and 5 others needing wheelchair assistance were quickly and safely taken through passport control to the baggage reclaim only to find no trolleys yet again. My wife and I had three bags. One bag put under my wheelchair, the other 23kg pulled by the poor man who was pushing my chair and the third by my wife who at 75 years old and awaiting an hip replacement herself struggled all the way to bus stance 7. This is an absolute disgrace for an International airport. I noted that there were plenty trolleys lying outside the terminal. Even Tesco manages to return trolleys back to the shop where they are needed. Come on Edinburgh buck up your ideas.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review, I understand how frustrating it will have been to discover there were no trolleys available. Our trolleys are in constant rotation, which means once they have left an area, they must be collected by a member of staff, and processed back into their designated zones. This unfortunately takes time, and on this occasion has meant that the area you were in had no available trolleys. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
This was our first time using Edinburgh Airport for a short break in Amsterdam. The departure suite is acceptable and facilities are in line with a small airport. Our flight back was delayed at Schipol for nearly an hour and an half which was one of those things I suppose. That was nothing compared to Edinburgh Airport. Arrivals was an absolute shambles. Long wait for ground crew to arrive at aircraft. We were bussed to terminal building which was so overcrowded we were not allowed off bus for 10-15 mins. After being allowed off the bus it took over an hour to go through passport control. There was a fast track if you paid for it…. Eventually having got through passport control it was over a hour wait before our luggage arrived on carousel ! The aircraft had been landed over 2 and a half hours previous ! If we had paid extra for fast track through passport control we would have had a two hour wait at carousel. The airport is so mismanaged or understaffed…..I really don’t know which. I will NOT be using again if I can possibly help it !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Edinburgh is easily one of the worst airports I have ever experienced. My main grumble is with security, it seems that every time I want to fly somewhere they want to stop me, even though I have followed all the procedures correctly such as removing any items with metal e.g belt, smart watch, phone, even my specs, liquids to go through on tray. Despite doing everything required they have sent me through an additional full body scanner. Also, latest was on returning from Tenerife when customs stopped me for reasons unknown and not explained to me. I had scanned my passport successfully and been let through only for a customs chap to stop me exiting. He then asked me where I had flown from, did I live in Scotland and how long for (i was born in Scotland and always lived here), how long I was away for, what for, did i have any additional items to declare, as if I was a criminal. Only item I had was aftershave bought from a Tenerife airport Duty Free shop. He also scanned my cabin bag which had previously been scanned and let through at Tenerife without any issues and only contained clothes, wash items, chargers for phone, watch and a mini music speaker. It was embarassing being led away like that when I had done nothing wrong. I consider it harassment as only happens to me at Edinburgh airport and on numerous occasions. Customs is a new one though, guess they want to vary my harassment now. Would be good to have an explanation on why they keep on doing this to me! Looks like the only way for me to stop this harassment is by not flying from or to Edinburgh airport. I am actually thinking about keeping a notebook with me and recording in it everytime i am stopped by Edinburgh airport security. Might even complain to my local MSP.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Thank you for your review. The Security team will only ask those who activate the walk through metal detector to enter the body scanner, the team have no control over who activates unfortunately and I hope it isn't too much inconvenience however the safety of all customers is of paramount importance. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Absolutely terrible experience. Travelling with infant and no trolleys. Baggage left near carousel and no staff member willing to help. Waited for 2 hours while baby was hungry and tired
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
This airport has the worst baggage offload I have ever seen. The airport is dirty, too crowded and staff unhelpful. For a visitor to scotland this is dreadful.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Appalling slow baggage handling. Rude unhelpful staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Dreadful experience with rude staff. We were on an early morning flight with our three grandchildren, to begin with the lady in charge of the queue for baggage drop off clearly did not want to be there, mannerism was terrible, especially as this was a flight full of young children going to Finland for an exciting time. Next was the security, staff were shouting at everybody about the trays, my grandchildren were upset as they did not know what to do. When we finally got jackets, bags, electronics on separate trays we went to go through the scanner, when a lady let out a roar at us and shouted boots off. By this time my grandchildren were in tears. Finally after waiting to find another tray for shoes and boots, we went through the scanner. It beeped for my youngest grandchild and she was told to stand aside, as she was clearly frightened I went to go to her and was rudely told to stand back. By this time our trays had all collected at the bottom, another rude person shouted take the trays off. Rather difficult when you have to look after children and collect 5 separate trays. Totally spoilt the start of my grandchildren's holiday. I felt really embarrassed and ashamed this was a Scottish airport as I have never experienced this rudeness in any other airport. I must add though there was one very nice lady at the start, she saw we were a family and tried to keep us together. I would like to suggest you have better check in facilities for people travelling with young children and train your staff to be more tolerant with people and smile now and again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I travel a lot and whenever I return home I am always dismayed by the reception at Edinburgh Airport. From the convoluted route to International Arrivals to the perpetually understaffed immigration desks, rude staff and the general condition of the fabric of the building, it is all a very poor. For many travellers this is their first impression of our city and country. As a returning Scotsman I am embarrassed. How can so many other countries get it so much better? Then there is the baggage collection. This too is a painfully long process (prepare to be waiting for +1 hour). For an airport that has the audacity to charge £5 to drop-off or pick-up passengers, they are kidding themselves on at where they are in the rankings. Edinburgh Airport is a glorified shed in the middle of nowhere. I seldom use the trams but when I see the cost of a single ticket to the city centre, I feel it is out of line with other European cities and is another stealth tax on travellers. In summary, ill-equipped, grossly understaffed, rude staff, dirty, poor lay out and on top of all of this, over-priced.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Staff couldn't have been better. I was travelling with my father who has manual wheelchair. Support was amazing. Thank you to support staff for all your assistance abd help.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Just a horrible ugly unwelcoming building, every time I return from Europe I get the same feeling of utter embarrassment that this excuse of an arrivals hall is what welcomes the world to the fantasic Citi of Edinburgh and the beautiful country of Scotland. What an absolute wasted opportunity to demonstrate what an abundance of design and innovation talent Scotland has
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
We arrived November 10th at 19.30 hours. Customs was great to get through but your toilets (ladies and gents) were disgusthing not clean at all and a dirty smell! Even when drying your hands, the air that comes out smelled like urine! International airport?? Really not representative….. great though to have the tram to the city center!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Ground staff who handled our check-in and later on the onboarding process before heading to the aircraft (employees of the airport, not the airline) were beyond rude in insisting we should hand in our paid-for cabin baggage due to the plane being full. Though that may be understandable their terrible manors and extremely poor service was evident for all to see. When asked why she was taking our bags specifically the female employee said it was because we had the cheapest fair which is a practical impossibility as we paid for both cabin & check in luggage. She also refused to give us her name claiming GDPR which obviously relates to guests/passengers and not operating staff. The supervisor of the process also claimed I was shouting at him despite my never raised my tone beyond conversational standards. Truly awful experience dealing with both these individuals who clearly haven't a clue of how to treat paying guests. Argumentative, plain rude and highly unskilled.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
I was unable to write a review in September to comment on the pool of vomit on the floor at gate 27 which was there for the 90 minutes I waited to board. A disgusting health hazard, ignored by several airport employees and deserving of a zero star rating, hence the reason I could not rate this. I have travelled through the airport this week and can now give this one star review. Dirty floors and restrooms, 50 minute wait for luggage, disrespectful service from several customer facing employees. Apparently there are management team overnight excursions to a local 5 star hotel monthly with motivational speakers - I would suggest motivation on quality improvement and enhancing customer experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Very disappointed, the sits are only near the exit where is cold because the mains door is open and close all the time, coffee shop is also close,people who stay at night time sitting on the floor, no sitting area
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review. As you will know we have made significant changes to our infrastructure to accommodate our growth and to fully maximise the use of space we have limited seating facilities in the check-in hall, however we will always provide seating for those who find it uncomfortable to stand for an extended period of time. Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 months ago
Mobility service was amazing for my friend. From the start at the reception to the following a big thanks to James, Claire, Becky at Edinburgh and Julie for Stansted Airport. What a wonderful hardworking team date 14th October 2023 I cannot fault this service and the attitude towards us was so rewarding and reassuring to informing each stage of the process. Very stressfree
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
If there were 0 stars that would be the rating From passport control, baggage claim and the farcical “taxi” rank where to start. I’m Edinburgh born and based and dread to think what visitors to our City make of this shambolic arrival point. To be quoted in excess of £50 to the city centre by the saloon cars operating from your “rank” is a joke surely. This following on from being herded like cattle at passport control and an hour’s wait in baggage reclaim. I’m seriously considering flying from Glasgow in the hope that it’s an improvement
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.6 based on 1,307 reviews