Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.6 Rating 1,329 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The airport is filthy, dirt, dust, hair balls and litter in every stairwell, corridor or corner. Security and passport control surely can’t be safe, hundreds of passengers rammed in up a long corridor before passport control not moving. And security was a shamble with the escalator up to it having to be emergency stopped to stop overcrowding at the top. An embarrassment to Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
Hello, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. I will pass your comments over to the relevant team and they can look into this. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 days ago
Edinburgh airport is dirty, inefficient and an embarrassment to Scotland !! Bob L
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Edinburgh Airport is sorely lacking in organisation and practical customer care. We fly a lot and dread when we have to use Edinburgh Airport. It’s a shame Glasgow Airport has cut flights since the pandemic as they are much better. Edinburgh really needs to work on the poor welcome to Scotland people receive coming into their airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello, We are sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Edinburgh Airport. We strive to provide a positive and welcoming experience for all travelers, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns. We understand the importance of organisation and practical customer care in providing a seamless airport experience, and we apologize for any shortcomings you encountered during your visit. We are constantly working to improve our services and facilities to enhance the overall travel experience for our passengers. Your feedback will be shared with our team so that we can address the areas that need improvement. If there are specific issues or suggestions you would like to bring to our attention, please feel free to reach out to our customer support team at https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new. Your input is important to us as we strive to make positive changes to better serve our customers. Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
Poorly run lots of employees with clipboards ticking all the boxes baggage nothing really happens takes a lifetime embarrassment compared to other countries but this is what happens when every employee has a pen
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
What went wrong.... We used Edinburgh airport. Rudest staff ever at check-in and arrivals, security and passport control are a disgrace. Secuity staff displayed childish behavior, hinging on absurd (told my elderly mother very rudly, she would need to checkin a mascara or bin it) i said i would add it to my liquid bag, which seem to upset her no end, so she proceeded to go through all her baggage very slowly, felt like she was doing this purely as revenge for not getting to bin the item. Pasport control, staff screaming at eneryone at top of their voices to move at because we were queing all the way up the stairs, there was nowhere to go because it was full. 45mins que, No exception for elderly or people with small children and babies. 80 mins from landing to exiting the airport is unacceptable, back to Glasgow or Newcastle for us in future, dont need this place blighting my memories, holidays are too expensive these days to be tarnished by this joke of a place.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 weeks ago
OCS failure to get us where we were meant to be. On arrival DUMPED at wrong gate. FAILED to get our flight. Lost TIME. Spent more time travelling, 5 out of 7 days. On return DUMPED again. Promised help with expenses. DUMPED again. Emails blocked. DUMPED again. Thomas Miller and his team (bar Sarah) need memory help. If you want to be DUMPED go to Edinburgh airport and visit OCS. Mr Dewar time to up the service or end up in the dump. Andrew.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Security you were amazing today a MASSIVE shout out to Hannah and Lisa and their lovely boss for helping me out - they went out of their way to return an item (Hannah did the leg work so thanks!) Because I forgot to return it before passing through security by which time it was too late! I’m not saying what it was or they’ll be inundated with similar requests and they’re busy enough as is :) But honestly, if you know them - go tell them pls that they are fab! Thank you!! Sallie :)))
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Everything. OCS put us to wrong gate. Lost our flight. Lost precious time with family. Spent time in places we did not want to go. Spent time in Edinburgh Airport through no fault of our own. Promised compensation. Never happened. Dumped on our return trip by OCS again. Thomas Miller OCS duty manager promised us he would handle it all. One telephone call and nothing. Blocked our emails. Edinburgh airport does not care for people. Sad.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
I have flown through more airports globally than I can name, and by far Edinburgh Airport security has been the most off-putting. Rather than making things safer, the carryon baggage search at Edinburgh Airport is at the point of being silly. Other airports across the globe abide by regulation restrictions on liquids, but at Edinburgh Airport even the regulation sizes are treated with suspicion and tested. This includes the vanity sets which airlines give customers to fly with, this includes mascara and an individual eye drop vial (which is only a few ccs and is less than one small spoonful). Never before had I seen a flight attendant have their carry on luggage inspected with a fine tooth comb. I don’t think Edinburgh Airport security genuinely believed any of these things or myself or the flight attendant were of risk (I have a Global Entry security clearance myself). After spending 20 minutes going through my carry on bag and finding nothing in violation of regulations, the security officer pointed to the handbag on my shoulder which had already been X-rayed and had already passed security and asked about the contents of the handbag.The security team does their job with no accountability, no supervisor we can complain to, and they can and do get away with playing childish power games which waste time, are off putting and serve no purpose in making the airport any safer. This was my first visit to Scotland. Nothing in my personal profile makes me a suspicious person. I have always been a peaceful, law abiding person who enjoys traveling, but I will choose never to fly through Edinburgh Airport again. It’s just not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review, If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
It's the first time I've ever received anything free at the airport, I didn't realise assaulted was complimentary at Edinburgh airport. So don't ever ask a question like why because if you do men in security think that they have the right to man handle you and push you physically to move on and shout, anywhere else that's assault why is it not in the airport?? and when you ask to speak to a supervisor why are you told "I don't understand why you need to speak to a supervisor" but if you don't understand why I need to speak to a supervisor I don't know what you people get up to. Putting hands on people is not normal!!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Edinburgh airport is poorly managed and disorganised. The airport cannot cope with the number of flights and subsequent passengers. Profit seems to be the only driver. The current operators seem to be unwilling to undertake a root and branch re-design of the airport that would , at least match the leading mediums sized airports in Europe or Asia. Initial points to consider are -Customer experience such as seating -Layout of the airport service areas -Covered, stylish access to parking areas -Engaging architecture
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
British airports generally seem to be far worse than most other developed countries and edinburgh is one of the worst in Britain. It was badly designed from the outset with sub-standard materials and its now also filthy and dilapidated. It is a disgrace to edinburgh. I don’t know how much profit is being derived from the airport - it seems plenty busy - but it certainly isn’t being appropriately reinvested in the airport
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Returning home, having been in multiple slick airports, only to sit on the plane waiting for a gate.. 30 minutes later and still no news. Frustrated and tired crew and passengers. Edinburgh Airport disappoints AGAIN.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Women cleaning in the men’s restrooms around the urinal next to me as I’m using it. Completely inappropriate. Apparently men in the airport are not entitled to dignity, respect, and privacy like female customers are. So much for equality, it’s disgusting perverted experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Just try to contact them by phone with any enquiry that is not on their list, its awful. How can a major international airport have no one to answer questions outside 9 to 5 . unbelievably awful. I wasted ages and still could not speak to a human. Its a disgrace!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. The team can be contacted on live chat or social media from 7am-6pm during the week and 8.30am-4.30pm at the weekend. Our phone lines are operation from 9am-2pm Monday to Friday and our feedback form accepts submissions 24 hours a day. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
I travelled to Kaunas on Sunday 10th March returning Friday 22nd March. I booked special assistance for both journeys. After a limp about the airport I found the special assistance room waited only a few minutes then was whisked smoothly and efficiently through the airport to check in by David who was kind considerate friendly and efficient. What a lovely start to my journey. Things could NOT have been more different on my return journey. I was asked to remain in my seat until everyone was disembarked from the plane which was fine but then had to wait another while for the cherry picker vehicle thing to come along side- also fine (although I had now been sitting for 3 hours unable to move or go to the loo!) There was a long wait and when I was told I could now be moved onto the transfer vehicle there was a big step down from the emergency exit onto a slush covered metal ramp with no hand hold. A bit scarey with 2 crutches. I got into the vehicle and then sat for approx 10minutes before it moved. Very cold! It eventually moved round to the gate where I was met by a harassed women who just kept saying "we don't have a wheelchair, we can't find a wheelchair." Eventually when she calmed down a bit she said she would walk me through to customs where a colleague would hopefully meet me with a wheelchair!! I asked if I could please go to the loo and was told that there weren't any loos until after I was through the custom desk. However the other woman who was flapping about looking for an elusive wheelchair then rushed off saying she was going to the loo! Leaving me standing with the other woman. By this time I was fairly exhausted by all the harassment and decided that I would attempt walking through to customs! The mad harassed woman would not leave me alone- kept on and on about not having a wheelchair but she would walk me through. I eventually had to ask her to please leave me alone. The custom desk had by this time closed but luckily the man was still there which meant another wait while he logged back into the system. I eventually got through to the other side was met by a man with a wheelchair which I used for the last hundred yards of my journey though edinburgh airport. What an utter fiasco! Please employ more staff like David.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
I've used Edinburgh airport several times over the past two or so years and it never fails to curl my toes and make me grimace. Ceiling tiles missing, others stained, floors messy, unclean, worn out signage, tarmac paths that are pitted and rutted. What an under-funded embarrassment. Arrivals is akin to a 1960s eastern-bloc cliche but never mind, there's an Irn-Bru vending machine to make it all right. Jet-washing, proper maintenance and cleaning routines and at least a smidgen of respect would make a big difference, but clearly no-one in a position of authority can be bothered to implement any of those. As a first impression of our country it's a very sad and bad joke. The general populace should crowd-fund large banners proclaiming our own national embarrassment at what visitors have to encounter and endure. Not good enough by those responsible, and not by a long way.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
My husband and I flew on a Loganair flight on 27th March to Southampton and were so impressed by the help we received at the airport. Having asked for assistance for me as I struggle to walk long distances we were treat like royalty being helped all the way until we boarded the plane. We were first on and asked to remain in our seats until everyone had got off at Southampton, so the stewardess could help me get off. Loganair had messaged to Southampton to say I needed assistance and a lady was waiting at the bottom of the steps to push me all the way to the airport car park. Thank you Edinburgh Airport for all of your assistance. Mrs Alison Venning.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Landed from Tenerife over 80 minutes ago and luggage still not arrived. Service is terrible!!! and this isn't the first time either. Would’ve been quicker travelling from Glasgow and would be in the house by now too.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
As a proud Scotsman, I am embarrassed and ashamed of Edinburgh airport. From arrival Via Roads littered with potholes and faded markings. A long stay car park that’s a shambles With the entrance dug up and abandoned, no shuttle bus anymore, so a walk along an undefined, uncovered, badly lit path, no signs and with no trolleys for baggage. Good luck. The whole airport, Poor organisation, badly run, underfunded, lacking maintenance, disillusioned and fed up staff. Rip off prices at every turn, Traveler’s are simply a target to be exploited, thats what it feels like. I’ve read replies from customer services to other poor reviews, its alway an excuse and never the Airports fault???? Yes it is!!!! Take ownership of the issues, better organisation and planning. Proper leadership from the top for starters. I visit plenty other clean, efficient, well run airports. What’s happened Edinburgh airport????? Terrible, terrible terrible. Embarrassing, embarrassing!!!! I am ashamed. After family discussion, we will now only use Edinburgh Airport as a last resort, why would anyone use this Airport unless they had to. Get a grip Edinburgh Airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.6 based on 1,329 reviews