Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.5 Rating 1,347 Reviews
61 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Travelling with our autistic daughter, security staff were exceptionally accommodating, providing a stress free and easy experience. This is often not the case at airports however this was the best airport experience we’ve ever had travelling with our daughter.
Helpful Report
Posted 13 hours ago
Arrived yesterday into the shambles that is Edinburgh Airport. Just the usual really. No stand for the plane to disembark,herded on to cramped buses for 15 minutes to be taken to the utterly shambolic passport control. Massive queues,and 4 of the 10 gates were out of order. On to the filthy baggage hall. 3 flights on the one carousel,nowhere near good enough. I actually have the misfortune of having to return to this miserable place today. Flying out is much the same experience. What must tourists think when this is the first thing they see in Scotland. Sort this out please we are charged enough for using this godforsaken place.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Hello, Thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you never had a pleasant experience with us. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 weeks ago
Really was expecting a bad episode when landing but we were off the plane and through with bags collected within 20 minutes. New record and an international arrival. However arrivals could do with a deep clean especially the stairs and corridors but appreciate this is seeing bulk usage.....also no trolleys?
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
The last 2 times I’ve landed at Edinburgh Airport the baggage reclaim has been very slow. 45 minutes and over an hour. I’m not sure who has ultimate responsibility but it needs to be improved. It spoils your travel and makes you consider other airports which don’t seem to have the same problems. I’m only giving 2 stars which are given to other parts of the process as it would be no stars for baggage reclaim.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
No trolleys Shortage of baggage handling staff led to delays in collecting baggage Baggage reclaim area dirty needs a good clean Capital of Scotland, international airport needs a massive improvement on the very basics. Appears people have been complaining for some time perhaps it's time to sort it out. What must visitors think.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
The only airport I have ever landed at where there have been NO available luggage trolleys on arrival. And this has happened several times!! And don’t start me on other issues. It’s basically a shambles of an airport. A total embarrassment!.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
I am very disappointed regarding the liquids policy to fit in one small zip lock bag. My daughter had to throw away $50 worth of products. Nice trick to then enter the beauty products over abundance of overpriced products immediately after confiscating the products I also was disappointed at the security staff. The person patrolling the area was rude and lacked basic decency. He would not even make eye contact to let you know he was addressing your question. Wow, really Scotland, you can do better.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. Rules regarding liquids at security have been in place since 2006 and there have not yet been any changes to the rules. This is highlighted on both our and the UK government's website and is also made clear on approach to and within the security halls. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Airport is fine. Security experience is terrible. Arcane rules on carry on liquids are inconsistent with rest of the developed world which results in ridiculous delays with NO increase in safety/security. Too many dead-eyed disinterested (bordering on obnoxious) security agents. The whole operation appears to be a thinly veiled government full-employment initiative and it’s asinine. Unnecessarily stupid experience that diminishes a great country.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. The rules in security regarding liquids have been in place since 2006 and there have been no changes since then. We are currently in the process of upgrading our security scanners and we expect more of these to come online in the coming months. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
It was crowded and I understand that. But the people working there and the overall security checks were too slow making us stand for more than 1 hour until we pass through to go to our gate
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Special Assistance service is appalling. On arrival from Tenerife at 01.45am no Special Assistance was waiting. Eventually I member of staff appeared with 3 wheelchairs and took one person into the terminal leaving 2 of us sitting on the runway in the rain until 2 aircraft crew from Jet2 wheeled us into the terminal when eventually Special Assistance lady appeared she had to take both wheelchairs to the baggage carousel where we were abandoned. A lady from Jet2 had to retrieve our luggage from the carousel and kindly remained with us until she had to leave to attend to another flight. On her return she discovered we were still waiting on someone to take us out to the pick up point which she then had to arrange. We had been sitting at the empty carousel for about an hour. Fortunately our pre-booked taxi was still waiting for us and we arrived home at 4am which is a 20 minute journey from the airport. The Special Assistance service given in Tenerife was first class and staff there were only too happy to help so why is it so bad in Edinburgh?*
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Thank you for your review. If you can please fill in our contact form we can send your details onto our Special Assistance provider OCS to investigate. https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
I came into Edinburgh airport on a jet 2 flight from palma majorca,the flight duration was 2hrs 50mins and we spent 1hr 35mins trying to get in and out of the airport!!!. No1 It started badly we were sent to the other side of airport because there was no stand available for the aircraft☹️ No2 we arrive in customs and i mean just inside the building!!!.There were another 2 flights and us crammed into never ending snaking queue's, only 4 custom officer's on passports?? and one guy trying to manage people through the automated passport control area's who was clearly embarrassed by the situation and just called it shambolic!!! No3 finaly we arrive at baggage carousell 8 which has a staggering amount of people all from 3 different flights trying to reclaim thier baggage!!!, i am sure you by now can imagine how long that took us to retreive our cases😖.I am sorry to say this is not the first time we have had issue's like this at Edinburgh airport,but nothing like this,it was chaotic.So in short when a 2hr 50m flight equates to a 1hr 35m wait at your returning airport something is seriously wrong!! P.S might be a good idea to take the international sign down,it's a bit embarrasing.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Waited 15 minutes on the plane for a bus to take us to the terminal then only one turned up. 5 minutes later the second one arrived. We then proceeded to drive round the airport, parked for about another 10 minutes then drove back to roughly where we had started. Now a long walk up a scruffy staircase followed by an exceptionally long queue at Border Control, we even had to queue to get into the border control area. Finally after spending about 15 minutes scanning the baggage conveyor we managed to find someone to ask where our bags were. Apparently they had been taken off and stacked against a nearby wall. Someone could have said. This airport is an embarrassment.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Arrived at Edinburgh airport from Prague and had to remain on plane for 45mins as there was no bus available to transport the passengers from plane to terminal building. When we finally got off the plane, the transport bus was quickly filled with passengers and there was insufficient space for everyone to get on with their baggage. Ground crew watched from a distance as the bus filled & did not attempt to help encourage passengers to squeeze in. The ground crew staff were observing instead of assisting and seemed completely disinterested. We had to ask for a staff member for support to encourage passengers to move up so we could get on. The passengers were unaware that another bus wasn’t coming. The first ground staff I asked for help didn’t respond to my request and just ignored me completely. The long wait at the end of the journey to disembark & then lack of provision of a bus seemed ludicrous and unacceptable. I’m embarrassed about my home country experience for travellers arriving. I was also really concerned about the H&S aspect re weight limit on the bus and appalled at the lack of support from staff. This is not an isolated incident. We have had similar experiences previously and always at Edinburgh Airport. I’ve never complained before but felt compelled to to do on this occasion. The staff seemed disinterested in helping and displayed a lack of courtesy. I did note the “no excuse for abuse” signage in the terminal building and completely support and agree with this. It does make me wonder if this is an experience travellers regularly receive? Airport management need to address these issues and sort out how the airport is run.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hello, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
I needed passenger assistance at short notice, for my flight home. The Helper at the entrance was clearly visible in a neon vest and actually available to help! Unlike at some other airports when you can look around for a while before finding someone. He gave me the physical assistance I needed and didn't make me explain myself, & listened empathetically to my needs. He passed me onto the next member of the team, who all promptly, kindly took me to check in, where a Ryanair staff member, even though I hadnt booked assistance 48hrs ahead as they request, didnt question it or give me any funny look, organised for my assistance at my arrival in Dublin airport as well as for my departure from Edinburgh. The next team member, Lynn helpfully prompted me at security, let me know what we would be doing next at every step, & shared how much she enjoyed her job. I didnt feel like a burden to her, or any of the team. Sharon brought me in the lift up to the plane, lovely caring funny people.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Athens to Edinburgh , bus dropped us off after a wait while the ground crew got lost it was about 1/2 mile from passport control up 3 flights of stairs some elderly people were really struggling, where we were met my hundreds of people jostling to get a place in the long queue. I counted 3 Border Force operatives in kiosks and one on E Gate. The hall was like a farm shed. No help from staff when questioned Found then place to be dirty throughout , just my opinion but Newcastle for me from now on (Would have took some pictures but told I was not allowed to in hall ) PS paid extra for business class trip where we were fast tracked through Athens Airport but not on return
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to pass this onto the relevant team. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Assist travel is very poor,, wait for lift truck was awful ,,,almost missed flight The airport it's was dirty, Whole place an embarrassing entry to my country
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Extremely Disappointing Experience I recently had the misfortune of dealing with your staff, and I have never encountered such rudeness and unprofessional behavior in my entire life. The employees were unpleasant, poorly mannered, and completely fell short in every aspect of customer service. From the moment I arrived, I was met with an unwelcoming attitude. The staff seemed disinterested in helping and displayed a lack of basic courtesy. This level of service is unacceptable, especially for a business that relies on public interaction. I strongly urge the management to address these issues immediately. Proper training in customer service and basic manners is clearly needed. This experience has left a very negative impression, and I hope no other customer has to endure what I went through. Until these issues are resolved, I cannot give you more than the 1 star and that is only because i cannot do no stars
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello , I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Having travelled from the wonderful Athens Airport where the staff are friendly and helpful, security is filled with space and light, we arrived at Edinburgh. Staff rude and unhelpful, we were treated worse than sheep, the airport is shabby, dirty and unwelcoming. We felt like apologising to our Greek fellow passengers! Well the staff certainly wouldn’t! Pull your socks up Edinburgh Airport!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. I will pass your feedback over to the relevant team and ensure that this is taken into consideration. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 months ago
The airport is filthy, dirt, dust, hair balls and litter in every stairwell, corridor or corner. Security and passport control surely can’t be safe, hundreds of passengers rammed in up a long corridor before passport control not moving. And security was a shamble with the escalator up to it having to be emergency stopped to stop overcrowding at the top. An embarrassment to Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hello, I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. I will pass your comments over to the relevant team and they can look into this. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 months ago
Edinburgh airport is dirty, inefficient and an embarrassment to Scotland !! Bob L
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.5 based on 1,347 reviews