Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.81 Rating 1,176 Reviews
69% of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
421 Review Views (past 24 hours)
01AM - 3AM
0 Review Views
3AM - 5AM
23 Review Views
5AM - 7AM
39 Review Views
7AM - 9AM
59 Review Views
9AM - 11AM
22 Review Views
11AM - 1PM
38 Review Views
1PM - 3PM
110 Review Views
3PM - 5PM
20 Review Views
5PM - 7PM
35 Review Views
7PM - 9PM
41 Review Views
9PM - 11PM
17 Review Views
11PM - 1AM
17 Review Views
01AM
1AM
Visit Website

Phone:
0844 448 8833

Location:
Edinburgh Airport,Ingliston

Are you a business owner?
See Business Solutions

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photo to this review?
Upload Photo
(only JPEG and PNG files) (optional)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
BOOM! Your review is being processed!

Thank you for helping other customers to make an informed decision.

Why not write another review on a recent company you have used and be in with a chance to win £250 Amazon Gift Card. Review Another Company

Merchant Metrics
This data is produced by analysing genuine customer experiences. It is not a guarantee of the company.
5
Verified Buyer
"Clean, orderly and peaceful"
Posted 2 years ago
5
Verified Buyer
"Very efficient and friendly staff working the security. United vendors were adequate. Great shops and food, but I couldn't find any T-Shirts!"
Posted 2 years ago
Verified Buyer
"Hi I am from India and was travelling from Edinburgh to Stanstead, London and from London to New Delhi on June 13th. My flight was at 10:30 hrs by Ryan Air. During the security check it was informed that we cant carry any liquids (perfumes, enamel cleaner, water above 100 ml) I was carrying two bottles of water which was approx 450 ml which was asked to be thrown by the security authorities. Please note Access to water is a basic human right and not allowing the same lead me to a dehydration due to the hot climate . The airport had no water coolers, one could have an access only at the convenience stores where one would need to pay GBP -2.20 approx. Before boarding and post boarding the flight (RYAN AIR) there was no water which one could assess. The air hostess also confirmed that there was no water to be served. I also had to throw my used Deodorants as they were above 100 ml. I also had bought small gift items i.e perfmes which were thrown by the Security and Ryan Air personnel. I lost about GBP 50 POUNDS worth items due to this sad affair In case there are security issues, pasengers should be allowed free cabi check in baggage. It s a sad affair to express a country which has been claiming about rich heritage, tourism and a one of top places to visit on variou tourist site doesnt have basic human right to offer to its tourist i.e water. A very sad affair to express that it has been more tahn 48 hours I have returned but the bitter feelings still lies within that the airport had a ruthless way to behave to its customers. Thank You Hope this feedback will be taken on a serious note. Best regards Priyanki Dash EMAIL -priyanki.dash@gmail.com"
Posted 2 years ago
"Up to 30 minutes waiting on ground crew to arrive to allow us off the plane. Not good. Last month I waited 55 minutes on luggage. I only ever experience this at Edinburgh no where else."
Posted 9 months ago
Are you Edinburgh Airport? Gain access to your dashboard so you can reply to this review. Free Access
"Returning to Edinburgh Airport from Malta plane sat on runway for 18 minutes before being allow into the gate. Luggage took 35 minutes to arrive on luggage belt and had been left out in the rain baggage was all wet."
Posted 1 year ago
"My son came to pick us up and had to pay £14 to park his car for less than 10 minutes."
Posted 2 years ago
"I checked my luggage in on 13th June before departing for two weeks in Rome, Italy and my bag went missing. I have tried to get this resolved and not one company, the airline, the airport or Menzies Group have responded to my requests for information and more importantly the return of my baggage."
Posted 2 years ago
"I am a frequent traveller and feel that Edinburgh is one of the poorest looking airports that I have been in. It has not kept up with the times. The staff are friendly and helpful but the airport requires investment-big time. My husband and I arrived back from New York yesterday (an all night flight) and our whole planeload of people were held in a corridor until another load of people got on to their flight . It was bizarre. People were tired and sleepy and could not believe that they were being held up because the airport had not the basic facilities. The staff were great, apologised and did their best but this is not a good look for a capital city airport.."
Posted 2 years ago
"Check in was easy with easyJet. Quick and efficient, staff helpful. Loathe having to walk through the duty full shops once through security. Loathe the irrelevant retail outlets that make one feel that airctravel is only suppised to be for the wealthy. Had a food experience in the Gathering restaurant. Friendly and efficient staff. Invited to put our cabin bag in hold free of charge, yet another passenger was later told his bag would cost him £45 by an over officious blonde female at the gate. All in all I just get the impression the airport is so far up itself it no longer really caters for real people. The drive up market is ludicrous when the business expansion is coming from low fare air carriers."
Posted 2 years ago
"The men's toilets in the international arrivals were embarrassing to say the least. They looked as if they have been built in some kind of temporary hut? Freezing cold and stinking of urine. Are they actually regularly cleaned? If so, then someone needs to take a serious look at the Cleaning staff performance or the plumbing, as something is definitely not working properly. The car parking facilities are inadequate. Surely another multi storey car park is required. The cost for parking for 1-2 hours is an absolute rip off. The layout of the international check in area is a joke. Hardly any space for queuing and people trying to proceed with their luggage and trolleys to different parts of the airport. The immigration part of the international departures was the worst I've ever seen at any international airport I've been to. Very cramped with the staff shouting at the top of their voices telling customers what to do. One of your staff should try queuing and passing through this area as a customer, as I think u would be quite surprised with the operation. My wife accidentally forgot to lift her tray off the conveyor belt after her hand luggage had been scanned, and was told very aggressively by a male member of staff to get her tray off the conveyor belt. I approached the gentleman and told him to calm down. His aggressive response was "what did you say to me, do you have a problem"? I just walked away and wouldn't rise to his confrontational attitude. Overall a very disappointing experience. The next time I visit Edinburgh, I will fly with Emirates and will arrive at Glasgow airport."
Posted 2 years ago
"We arrived on time at 11.45pm after an uneventful flight from Athens having made up time en route. On arrival the plane taxied to the furthest possible point by the perimeter fence, the captain apologised profusely but his frustration was clear. We were herded onto two buses, the last people, an elderly couple having to be literally squeezed in by the official. We then drove for over 7 minutes and queued behind 4 other buses by empty plane parking with air bridges to enter a packed passport control where officials struggled with the numbers and the passport scanners kept failing. There was a 25 minute wait at the taxi rank, where at least a lady from City cabs was explaining and asking people to share taxis if they could (25 min wait also for Airbus). I have been in many third world countries that put this shambolic airport to shame. I doubt this will make any difference as passenger care is clearly not a priority to the airport authority as I had a remarkably similar experience on a late flight from Munich 3 weeks ago. Nobody is in charge, nobody is accountable, there didn't appear to be a duty manager or anyone else to explain ther chaos, it really should be the subject of an investigative press report. Sarah Munro"
Posted 2 years ago
"6 hour delay and poor communication about what was happening."
Posted 2 years ago
"Ridiculous length of queue and time it took to check baggae in for Eurowings flight having arrived at airport in good time. Security and boarding were however better, or the flight would have had no chance of being any where near to take off time. YOUR WEB PAGE IS ALSO VERY USER UNFRIENDLY TO TYPE"
Posted 2 years ago
"Hi I am from India and was travelling from Edinburgh to Stanstead, London and from London to New Delhi on June 13th. My flight was at 10:30 hrs by Ryan Air. During the security check it was informed that we cant carry any liquids (perfumes, enamel cleaner, water above 100 ml) I was carrying two bottles of water which was approx 450 ml which was asked to be thrown by the security authorities. Please note Access to water is a basic human right and not allowing the same lead me to a dehydration due to the hot climate . The airport had no water coolers, one could have an access only at the convenience stores where one would need to pay GBP -2.20 approx. Before boarding and post boarding the flight (RYAN AIR) there was no water which one could assess. The air hostess also confirmed that there was no water to be served. I also had to throw my used Deodorants as they were above 100 ml. I also had bought small gift items i.e perfmes which were thrown by the Security and Ryan Air personnel. I lost about GBP 50 POUNDS worth items due to this sad affair In case there are security issues, pasengers should be allowed free cabi check in baggage. It s a sad affair to express a country which has been claiming about rich heritage, tourism and a one of top places to visit on variou tourist site doesnt have basic human right to offer to its tourist i.e water. A very sad affair to express that it has been more tahn 48 hours I have returned but the bitter feelings still lies within that the airport had a ruthless way to behave to its customers. Thank You Hope this feedback will be taken on a serious note. Best regards Priyanki Dash EMAIL -priyanki.dash@gmail.com"
Posted 2 years ago
"Bad Sperling conditions after massive delay and WiFi costs £9 per das after 2 hours. Restaurants do not offer their own WiFi. Beste alternative is scotrail, Just 50yrds away and for free.."
Posted 2 years ago
"The scans are set way too high I ve flown around the world and have never been more fondeled and prodded. Maybe you should give out thank you notes with a free dinner and drink at the end of the search."
Posted 2 years ago
"Regardless of the upgrade to shops and eating places, if planes are continually late or cancelled, the experience will always be dreadful."
Posted 2 years ago
"Chaotic and unorganized. To start,the traffic and congestion of people was much too large for the size of this airport. Directional signage was unclear or simply wrong and many check-in machines and baggage belts were not working. Secondly, our boarding passes were not scanning at the check-in machines. We asked for assistance and we're told to check via e-mail and the airport attendant simply walked away (As international travellers we do not have our phones on us constantly nor are signed in to Wi-Fi). We asked a second attendant for assistance and were told to step out of the line while we were trying to access our boarding passes online (this line was approx 80-100 people long). We asked for assistance from a 3rd attendant and we were finally directed to a help desk and had to then wait in another line of approx 50 people. My wife was also 6.5 months pregnant at the time, making this process exceptionally difficult and never once were we offered assistance."
Posted 2 years ago
"It was very crowded and there was no signage to help us determine where we checked in to our Air France flight to Paris, having booked our flights throughout their partner, Delta. Finally a luggage gentleman at Air France figured it all out. I will never book a flight again through Edinburgh airport"
Posted 2 years ago
"une heure de retard pas d excuses, aucune info en francais"
Posted 2 years ago
"After returning from New York on Thursday 08th June (American Airlines flight from JFK). Our plane landed at approx 0655hrs. American Airlines (AA) no doubt refused to pay Edinburgh's extortionate rates to transfer passengers via the Passenger Boarding Bridge so the cheaper alternative was to use ONE set of stairs. These stairs were NOT suited due to a malfunction. After being informed by the AA flight captain that these were not suitable, she then told us that another set of steps would be required. 15 minutes later another set of steps were driven upto the plane. When disembarking the aircraft, we were told to 'be careful' as the stairs were 'wobbly'. These stairs were a disgrace to passenger comfort and, in my opinion, they did not feel safe. We were then put onto buses to transfer us to the other side of the airport where Passport Control is situated. Whilst we were waiting on the last passengers to disembark the aeroplane, everyone's attention was drawn to the TWO elderly Japanese couple who clearly had difficulty walking, never mind dealing with the 'wobbly' stairs.They were assisted by a younger Japanese couple, but they, also looked uncomfortable coming down the stairs. As the couple struggled to come down the stairs i noticed that the 8 (EIGHT) Swissport/Menzies ground staff members, this did not include the baggage handlers who were doing their job of unloading the baggage, stood there looking at these unfortunate people. When an American sounding individual said to one of the ground staff that this incident was absurd. She replied 'Excuse me, its not my fault!' Fortunately, our aeroplane was the only one that landed and Passport Control was empty. (I have previously been queued onto the apron, in the rain, before at Edinburgh International Airport. We then waited 20 minutes on our bags coming onto the carousel. So from the flight parking at the ramp to getting our bags it took approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes. An apology from the Captain of our flight for the time it was taking to get the stairs sorted,a disgrace of equipment used in getting approximately 180 people of an aeroplane and an embarrassment of no help whatsoever from the ground crew. My partner and i live and work in Edinburgh and use the airport roughly 10 times per year. It is so sad that tourists, business people, friends and family come to see our beautiful city and have to witness this total lack of care and attention. Edinburgh Airport Limited's FIRST Passenger Commitment is: We will welcome you with a smile and excellent service. On this occasion and no doubt many others their FIRST commitment is FAILING. I sincerely hope that this honest review is received by Edinburgh Airport Limited and these types of incidents are rectified."
Posted 2 years ago
"The luggage belt wasn't working on Saturday June 10th in the morning at Edinburgh airport. This caused huge lines check in desks. I was flying with Easy Jet and payed extra to be able to have a speedy check in... Not happy at all. Should get a refund!"
Posted 2 years ago
"Arrived back from holiday during heavy rain showers. The airport was only able to provide steps for the rear of the aircraft. Service staff sheltered under the wing of the plane as passengers alighted on to waiting buses. Although the bus was parked close to the wing our route was hindered by the positioning of the staff forcing us to walk under the wing close to the engine. When on bus we waited for a passenger who required assistance unfortunately for that passenger, who had clear mobility issues, they had to assist themselves down the wet aircraft steps whilst the person deployed to assist them watched their descent from the tarmac. As we waited for the bus doors to close the driver had to to personally hammer the a panel by the rear door with his bare fists before it would close. As the bus moved towards the terminal building it was noted that the aircraft was chocked at the front of the wheels but not at the rear. Once inside the baggage hall we all waited patiently for luggage to arrive. We couldn't help but notice that the person providing assistance totally ignored the passenger he was supposed to be assisting opting to stand beside them In silence. We were pleased to see our cases arrive. Unfortunately one was damaged. When we tried to report the damage to the person standing by baggage enquiries they directed us to Swissport service desk outside the baggage hall. While trying to find the Swissport desk we decided to ask an airport employee. They were unable to help as they had only worked at the airport for two months and they were "only a worker". We then noticed the service desk a few yards away tucked in a corner. Despite three staff being on duty only one was dealing with the queue to report damaged luggage from the same flight.The Swissport agent took the details of the damage after initially getting upset when we insisted on taking a photograph of the damage. He provided a reference number advising that we would have to claim for the damage from our travel operator as Swissport were only the handling agents and not responsible for any damage caused when they off loaded the case. I could go on but in short this was the first and last time we will use Edinburgh "International Airport" based upon their attitudes towards airfield security, health and safety and dismal customer service skills."
Posted 2 years ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.81 based on 1,176 reviews