Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.6 Rating 1,325 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
After arriving from Tenerife (,who were brilliant again) we had to stand outside in the cold in an uncovered walkway to queue to get into Border Control. Thankfully it wasn't raining this time. When we eventually got inside the place was crowded and there were other flights waiting to join the queue. It took 45 minutes get through the process which is unacceptable. The only positive was it took so long to get through, the luggage was waiting on the reclaim belt.
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Thank you for your review. Both of our arrivals halls are managed by UK Border Force and we have limited influence in their staffing and processes. I'm sorry to hear of the delay however I would encourage you to contact UKBF directly to raise it with them. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 5 months ago
As an expat who flies v frequently from the US to Scotland often with American guests , I am so pleased to regularly find wonderful hospitality and hugely improved standards at hotels, restaurants etc throughout Scotland . The utterly huge black mark is that entering Scotland by air is broadly a dreadful experience - while Glasgow airport is passable , Edinburgh and Inverness would rank as less than 3rd world by many yardsticks . The Scottish gov / Scottish Enterprise who know just how important tourism is to the Scottish economy should make it a priority to urgently upgrade basic facilities at EDI and INV and hold British Airways to task for abusing their monoploy status from London airports to Glasgow etc - I daily hear of canceled and delayed flights plus obvious price gauging when any major event occurs in central Scotland Arriving recently from the US at INV with a group of enthusiastic golfers , I had to apologize for the status of INV airport / I have seen better maintained cowsheds . Also artiving earlier this summer from LHR into EDI entailed multiple ground delays in finding a gate and then what seemed like a mile plus hike up and down stairs with bags - many elderly passengers clearly distressed Pass this on to anyone who will listen !! BTW It is inconceivable that EDI has a rating of 3.5/5
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
This airport is a complete disgrace. It has so many issues it would be impossible to list them all. I have used many airports worldwide and this comes close to the worst I have experienced - on a regular basis. No improvements ever seem to happen despite the valid comments which have been made regularly and frequently on line by thousands of travellers. And it serves a capital city!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi there, We usually appreciate all reviews, but I don't see this one as being very helpful. If you do have any constructive feedback please reach out to us via our other contact channels, details of which can be found on our website. Thanks, Customer Support Team
Posted 5 months ago
Returned from Marmaris through Istanbul and both airports are absolutely Spotless. When you land at Edinburgh it is filthy and disgusting. What a welcome to Scotland. Huge cleaning effort required but it's been like this for years
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I was appalled from the crowded departure event ( herded like sheep ) although minus the electric prods . Generally shabby throughout as others have remarked , down at heel . Returned after 1 he Ibiza a/p delay and sat in plane on Edin runway for over 2.5 hrs awaiting a plane stand . Returning to terminal building equally bad dragging heavy suitcases up 3/4 flights of concrete stairs no escalators , such a shame compared with Glasgow which is by no means perfect .Hopefully you will get funding to upgrade meanwhile I shall avoid .sorry
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Baggage took over an hour to come off plane. No reasons given or apologies. Passport control queue was average.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I could have mistaken my arrival at Edinburgh airport for a third world country. It’s all been said in other comments below. Such a contrast to depart from other European airports with pleasant and modern facilities to arrive in a “shed” that’s Edinburgh. On departure the main airport is simply too small to accommodate the growing number of passengers, the security area is a joke. As a capital city airport it simply doesn’t cut it. Final point, why are parking charges higher than Glasgow. Overall not a good experience and where possible I try and plan my travel from Glasgow.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Recently arrived at EDI after a 7hr 10 min flight from Calgary. Our flight was 20 mins early but we sat on the apron for 35mins due to lack of stand. Ehhh it’s not like they didn’t know we would be early! On arrival it was like entering a coo shed! Welcome to Scotland! As previously commented on -it was like a third world country. Another flight arrived at the same time. Literally hundreds of people being herded up and down stairs and all coming together at a single pinch point with one airport member of staff shouting instructions. Poor girl! There was a very long queue for BorderControl slowly snaking it’s way round. Automated machines are great but much slower than staff - but then again that means the government employing people! Once outside, the baggage reclaim area was no better. Despite being labelled ‘priority’ our bags were literally last off. (I’m aware this is an airline/handling agent problem and not EDI but it’s certainly not helping the overall experience. The whole area looks like it has been quickly and cheaply erected with no ‘Welcome’ or warmth to it. We were being picked up by a local hotel transfer and from touchdown to walking out the building it took us 1hr 35 mins - our driver commented ‘it’s usually bad but that’s disgraceful’. I’m ashamed to say this is our capital city’s airport. The growth in the number of routes served from Edinburgh is great news but the airport neither has the facilities nor staff to cope with them. I dread to think what foreign visitors/business travellers think! We live on the west coast and in the last 12 months we’ve flown long haul from EDI 3 times but I’m done with it. Unfortunately my next trip will now be with BA from GLA via LHR which sticks in my throat but it’s got to better than using Edinburgh airport! GIP get your finger out and complete the investment in EDI and that it both needs and deserves.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Grim, soulless, 3 flights of stairs on arrival and the floor grimier looking than a nightclub at 4 am. Is this the best Scotland capital has to offer?
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I am a Scot who fortunately lives in Austria, but I had the misfortune to have to come back to the UK to pick up a new Brexit approved passport (hopefully I'll be let back into Schengen) and got my firm to fly me to Edinburgh airport where I could visit my folks at the same time. I haven't been here since last year and I was depressed then by the shabby appearance of the airport and borderline hostility by some of the security staff. One elderly American lady in front of me made the mistake of asking a guy in a high vis jacket where she she go to to get her passport stamped and she was gruffly told to read the limited signage. So much for welcome to Scotland, maer like awa hame tae yer ain country hen. So I was not expecting a fantastic experience this time. True to form this time EDI did not disappoint. We arrived on the late flight from Amsterdam only to be left to stand on the tarmac for 15 minutes till one of the employees got off their mobile and realised, oh there's a plane load of people standing out in the cold perhaps we should let them into the building? So we then shuffled along the queue to get our passports checked. There was no open hostility to the guests this time, it was more a simmering resentment that we passengers dared to take up their valuable time. This was an improvement but only just. The state of repair and clenliness in the immigration hall is frankly pitiful. Does anyone ever clean the floor in there? Not that this would help when many of the floor tiles had been repaired with duct tape. This place would not look out of place in Port Hardcourt in Nigeria. I am not surprised there are signs up telling you not to take photos. I am pretty sure this has nothing to do with security and more to do with the fact that they don't want anyone posting pictures of the shabby state of the place to the internet. After reading some of the other reviews on here amazingly my bags actually arrived in fairly short order and I was able make my way out into the drizzle, which I can't blame on the airport. It's Scotland, the weather is sh*te. What I can blame on the airport is the fact my father was charged £5 for the 2 minutes and 30 seconds it took to pick me up in the dropoff zone and leave. A minute of that was him trying to get the machine to accept his card. You do realise that in other parts of the world, even really expensive parts of the world, you can actually drop off and pick up people at the airport for free? Vienna gives you 10 minutes before you are charged. On the way back out of the country on Saturday I also flew out of EDI. My father I know again had to cough up 5 quid to drop me off. My first stop before checking in was to find a lavatory, which was not exactly clean, there was toilet paper in the stalls but also skid marks on the pans and a stench of stale urine like your average Weatherspoons pub. I know gents toilets are never places you want to hang around in unless that's your thing, but perhaps it would be an idea to hire some more cleaning staff or get the ones you have to move their mops about a bit more. On my way to check in I passed a machine that had been thoughtfully placed so you could check the weight of your luggage, I was almost impressed until I noticed that you needed to pay to use it. Let me guess another 5 quid per bag. Why not just offer it as a service because no Scot is going to pay to use it. Or perhaps it's meant for gullible Americans. The check in itself was relatively painless compared to the previous time where I was made to check in a small box containg a fragile Harry Potter figurine which I bought in Jenner's for my sons birthday. Contrary to what it says on the posters you can't always take 2 bags through. Well I suppose you can if you buy it at the exorbitant prices that you get charged by Duty free. I can actually buy Talisker whiskey in Vienna for half the price that they are charging in EDI duty free. Security was also pretty good, the staff were pleasant and I got through fairly easily which is a plus. However when it came to boarding the staff at the gate had either only just started in their jobs or were so overworked that they had lost interest because the boarding process was shambolic. There were 3 of them there, one grumpy guy who was doinh all the work and looked like he was ready to punch someone, one gormless looking woman who just watched and another who was fiddling with a radio. You do realise that most people can't actually read minds? Perhaps if you decide to board by groups you could actually inform people which group you want to board next. It was just so inefficient. Is this the worst airport experience I have ever had, far from it, but considering EDI is the airport of the capital city in Scotland you would expect it to be better than your average 3rd world banana republic. It's just a bit shabby and shambolic, which pretty much fits Britain's post Brexit image.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Customer service is diabolical, particularly at security. Unhelpful, surly staff. I will travel to another airport in future after 2 bad experiences despite living in Edinburgh. Writing this review is pointless as you clearly don’t listen to your customers anyway.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
2 issues. 1) Departures and security not fit for purpose due to inability to handle number of passengers asked of it. 2) Baggage reclaim, on the last 2 occasions, this year, waited 1.75hrs and 1.5hrs respectively, for out luggage. Not acceptable and not fit for purpose. Baggage bands frequently jamming due mainly to large golf club type bags didn't help (technology is available and in place at other airports to stop or reduce this happening). Unfortunately, this is not new - Airport doesn't have the staff, the equipment or the will to deal with the number of flights and passengers asked of it. Fills me with dread having to go near the place - I use other airports, drive, use the train or the bus, where possible, compared to using Edinburgh airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Awful as per!!!! What’s going on with you Edinburgh Airpirt!????? Shouldn’t have to wait more than an hour for luggage!!!!! 😡
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you experienced a wait for your baggage and I understand how frustrating this must have been. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of the airline and their contracted handling agent. Kind regards, Customer Support Team Edinburgh Airport
Posted 6 months ago
You have a 64% positive review??? Everyone I've spoken to has a negative opinion! The arrivals Hall in particular is a complete disgrace. Queues wind on for half an hour or so. This is surely a health risk in such a confined area! Even a staff member admitted he absolutely never flies from Edinburgh. Security in Departures is a shambles - the staff are friendly and (mostly) competent to their credit. I can't imagine having to work in that environment daily. Overall though, using this airport fills me with dread. Truly- an embarrassing introduction if you're visiting Scotland!
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Waited over 2 hours for baggage at 2am not what you want after 5hr flight. Baggage area not big enough to handle all flights arriving, not enough seats, ladies toilets were disgusting (no toilet paper in some cubicles and floors dirty) god knows what visitors to the city must think. All that money doing airport up but it is a complete mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
1st October 2023, Easyjet flight from Antalya we waited 2 hours for luggage reclaim. The distance to walk from getting off plane and the amount of stairs to climb to reach passport control is totally unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Shambolic pedestrian walkway from long term parking to terminal. Being made to queue outside in the rain,while waiting to go upstairs to security check area. On return,alongside whole plane of passengers,waiting over 1 hour 30 minutes for our luggage to appear on carousel after it got ‘lost’ somewhere in the airport? Shambolic non signage for ‘walkway’ return to long term car park. Too small an airport,while trying to act all international. Roll on flights from any other airport apart from this wee shambles.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Just an absolute dump. I've travelled the world and have never seen such a shoddy, shambolic,embarrassment of an airport. The owners should be ashamed and I, as a Scot, am embarrassed every time I use it.
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
I use Edinburgh airport a lot but wish I didn’t have to place is a disgrace for a capital city.Flight arrives at least another every time before bags come out but u have made it so u get charged fortune for parking.So i will get a taxi oops airport dont have taxis just little cars with absolutely clueless drivers who then seem to make a price up after u have been told a price,and thats only if any vehicle is available 1.5 hours i wait for phc car to over charge me.Price when was taxi into town £30 at most now they charge £43 hows that.Your airport is a disgrace time to sort it out
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
What a joke of an airport. I live in a 3rd world country and I think we are misclassified. I would never expect our airport to operate at the level that was experienced at EDI. My wife and kid were stuck at the airport for over 4 hours waiting for their bags. The only way to get any assistance was by essentially starting a protest in the baggage hall after 2 hours. No one offered any assistance and the number on the baggage claim went unanswered for hours. It was pathetic and I will never waste my money again traveling to EDI. It is shameful and quite frankly embarrassing. Thank the Lord I live in the 3rd world where we actually get things done.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.6 based on 1,325 reviews