Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.6 Rating 1,325 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
I use Edinburgh airport regularly, as it is only a 30 minutes drive from my home. The service through security etc. and the shops on offer airside are pretty decent. However, on arrival from an incoming flight, the state of the place is embarrassing! The entrance and journey to baggage reclaim is a filthy, basic mess. Where there are carpets, there is always a build up of fluff along the edges! I have never seen this area looking clean. When we arrived the other night, the walkways were dark and unlit. Eventually, when we were halfway along each corridor, the light sensors triggered. What impression of our country international visitors must have on arrival via these third world style, makeshift buildings and tunnels is hard to contemplate. Their expectations must be pretty low. Additionally, they are unlikely to save some spending money for the airside shops on the way home, as they will have gained the impression there will be nothing worth buying! Brutal.....
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
I think this is, by far, the worst airport I have ever used. How disabled passengers are meant to use it is beyond me. It's probably best to avoid if at all possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
The worst airport in the UK. Planes always have to wait for a stand . Steps never ready . No escalator to leave - you have to use steps . Not enough staff on baggage reclaim so you wait for ever. If at all possible avoid flying from here - head to Newcastle . Edinburgh airport is cutting costs ready fir its private equity owners to sell. Embarrassing.
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
There is no point in listing the countless issues as nothing improves. My best advice now is to AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 7 months ago
We travelled to Dublin via Ryanair on wed 16th aug... I'd hurt my knee a couple of days before but managed to limp my way to bar one for a lovely breakfast and on to the gate...we asked at the gate about assistance for the Dublin side...but unfortunately it wasn't organised..we managed to get it organised once over there but it took 45 minutes...on our way back it was easy to organise the assistance on the Dublin side and they must have organised for someone to meet us from the plane with a wheelchair...it had been a long day and it was midnight when we touched down (delayed) your man was fabulous...took us right to our car...we were sooo grateful...
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
This airport is brutal and awful. Signage to get to the correct entrance is confusing, once you get in to the airport it's even worse, hardly any signage and unclear language on the ones you can find, even the parking staff weren't clear where we should park! Turns out short stay is a long long walk to terminal with no shuttle bus or provision for those with limited walking ability.The airport itself is not fit for purpose, dirty, no seating , ridiculously organised security. Will never use again and have since ensured several friends and family avoided this airport. This is a Scottish disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 7 months ago
£5 Is too much to drop off someone,kinda over a barrel as no option for disabled/anyone who doesn’t want to pay £5 for two minutes. Further to this was charged £20 for an hour in short stay,who earns £20 an hour. Total rip off,taxis an issue also.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Edinburgh airport is a complete disaster. Its so disorganised, unsafe and probably breaking all rules regarding security of travellers. It's so embarrassing from the time you step in until you leave , that is if you can get a taxi . Shame on you Edinburgh airport, why are you not accountable like the rest of us on proving an inadequate service to public service
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Having flown into airports all over the world I can say with absolute confidence that Edinburgh is the most run down and 'not fit for purpose' airport I have ever been to. The list of problems is too long to go into but where Scotland meets the world is a shameful embarrassment. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
What an absolute nightmare coming of flight from Lanzarote Wednesday morning 2 am. Must have been at least five flights all coming in at one time it was like been in a third world country coming through passport control. We were herded in like animals kids screaming tired parents never seen this in any airport before. Baggage all lying about that has been there for months e passport control not working properly. Four out of five people sitting at there desks talking to each other waiting on families to come through why not just let other people go through these desks they are not getting used.will never use this airport again absolute joke coming out people lying all over the place obviously flight delays get your act together Edinburgh airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
I have never experienced something like this I hope I never will again. I couldn't board a flight at 20.50 due to lack of photo id having flown in that morning. Booked another flight for 7.00 am I and well over a hundred plus people spent the night on the floor of the airport. I have had flight delays and other problems but never have I experienced the sheer lack of consideration or carnage that is this airport. You are not allowed to stay in the departures lounge even if you could prove travel. You had elderly and people with infants lying on the floor. I sat with my Autistic son trying to sleep on a floor while people came in and out it was freezing even though it was August. Everyone of those people had paid for their fares and therefore Airport taxes. People had arrived simply to check in and the whole ground floor is devoid of seating. You are a service we paid for that and you are a disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Firstly our arrival at the airport was fine but the departure security process was horrendous! We were on a DOMESTIC flight, we are in our 60’s and have flown to a fair few international and domestic airports and passed through their security. However the security yesterday at Edinburgh has to be one of the most stressful/worst we’ve been through! I personally felt very stressed by the time we’d gone through security. It was extremely busy but for some reason all the passengers were crammed together into restricted lane bedlam! Staff shouting all over the place, for some reason the alarm went off when I went through the first scanner which meant I had to stand feet and arms apart in another scanner only to have the staff member bark pass at me absolutely no effort at humanity!! We both felt extremely stressed afterwards and it made me feel really anxious afterwards. We had a lovely trip to Edinburgh but the security departure system could have ruined our visit and needs drastic improvement! Visitors shouldn’t be made to feel like cattle and feel humiliated they should be reated with more respect The very fact that I am writing this review at 4.30 am in the morning will show how the experience has left me feeling!!
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
It must be the most backward airport in the western world.Communications are antiquated and security are rude,don't communicate what they want passengers to do.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Waited 2 hours to get our baggage ,this airport is so badly run .getting through security is also a joke.been to airports all over the world .none are as so disorganised as Edinburgh airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
Thank you for your review. I can confirm the responsibility of the baggage is the airline and their contracted handling agent. Kind regards, Customer Support Advisor
Posted 8 months ago
After 35 years of air travel arriving to Edinburgh early hours Wednesday from Lanzarote worst arrival experience I have ever encountered. Passport control tool 2 hours to get through . No staff to help arrivals no toilet facilities etc . We had grandchild with us lots crying babies and exhausted mums as having to carry children as didn’t have prams . Once through passport control luggage all over floor which was filthy . Jet 2 staff tried best to sort luggage hand out water etc . Toilet’s filthy. No shops open for people travelling onwards can’t even get a coffee . It is a disgrace if airport can’t cope with flights don’t accept them . Don’t bother with your usual robotic reply customer service team . Just accept responsibility for being a terrible airport with no consideration for passengers. Don’t deserve any stars !
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Arrived in Edinburgh from Lanzaroute at 01-30, perfect flight from Jet 2 Bussed to the terminal to be greeted with 3 buses ahead of us waiting to then of course you have the stairs took to get to the passport control hall mean while whilst we are trying to get down the stairs our passengers are joking the queue from the ground level, what a absolute shambles only 5 border control officers working we eventually got through passport control after 1 & 1/2 hours as well as the issues withe electronic gates, it’s clear there are two many flights arriving at a similar time, oh and the female toilets are a absolute disgrace, I also understand this was not a one off it needs sorting Edinburgh
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Arrived back from Venice on Monday. No parking slot for the aircraft, then had to wait again as there wasn’t a set of steps to be found! Eventually disembarked and on our way to baggage reclaim we were confronted by a locked door. Stuck in the corridor with not a member of staff to be seen. The final straw was the time it took for the luggage to appear. The luggage from the flight which arrived after us came through first. Eventually got home hours later than we should have. This absolute shambles needs sorted out. Not a good look for visitors to Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Edinburgh Airport special assistance a joke,arrived from Palma 3 weeks ago,hadn't enough wheelchairs or staff to cope with 6 disabled passengers, then once got moving we were locked in a corridor for over an hour ,it's a total disgrace treated like second class citizens, complained to Airport got an apology but not good enough,I had booked assistance well in advanced pure disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for your review. If you haven't already, please reach out to us using our contact form and we will be able to look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 9 months ago
Worst airport experience ever. Crowded chaotic and dirty. Plane left 1 hour late. Pilot said he was ready to go but there was no luggage on the plane yet. Missed our connection.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Thank you for review. The responsibility of the baggage is the airline and their contracted handling agent. Kind regards, Customer Support Advisor
Posted 8 months ago
A sense of cramped chaos with disinterested Staff. Just returned from trip in Canada and US where even the US customs staff smile more than Edinburgh customs or airport staff. On departure the security checking area has a chaotic crammed-in feeling. There has been a great deal more consideration gone into the planning and staffing of the duty-free and departure areas, which are very comfortable, than the security check area. Following our boarding the plane a breakdown on the airports transfer tunnel caused us a very uncomfortable one hour delay. On our return yesterday, with many people carrying maxed out hand baggage because checked in baggage is no longer reliable. We had a long walk through pockey little passageways which involved narrow steep stairways both up and down with no obvious alternative lift. When we arrived at the passport check people were queuing on the stairs down to the zig zag sorting area before the automatic passport readers, this was a most unwelcoming dismal place in comparison with any airport or train station we visited in our trip. Once through UK passport check the experience didn’t improve, chaotic, with bags piled literally everywhere, some with barrier around them some just piled up in the corridors with no security or protection of any kind . I dread to think what kind of welcome this shows to visitors. The whole inbound experience was one of a chaotic, worn out, heath robinson, not very clean, dismal place. It needs to be greatly improved. In the mean time some smiles, some artwork with a tidy and cleanup would help a bit. Edinburgh Airport as our Capital City gateway must do better.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.6 based on 1,325 reviews