Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.5 Rating 1,336 Reviews
62 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
The whole layout is terrible. Forcing people through duty free should be a crime. No path from carpark to terminal. Single escalator for entire airport to departures. Generally dirty. And terrible wait times and congestion for bag reclaim area.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Edinburgh airport. A complete joke and the other things they don't accept any blame on there terrible customer services blaming the airlines who counter blame the the airport. Absolute joke. I overheard folks saying they had travelled to Edinburgh to save a few quid. But vowed they would never return due to poor service. I complained direct to Edinburgh airport received the usual woody response.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Arrived yesterday on klm flight from Amsterdam. Waited on taxiway for 20 minutes while captain explained that the gate allocated to us still had a plane there. Eventually we were allocated another gate. Another 20 minutes elapsed before we disembarked. Left on a pier then had to descend, go outside then along a strange concrete corridor before entering a partially complete warehouse that constituted passport control. Incompetent staff were opening and shutting lanes randomly thereby letting passengers behind skip past us. Then the real problems started. Baggage collection. In to another partially completed warehouse that would have been worthy of east Berlin 1955. 40 minutes later our baggage arrived. The time from landing to exiting baggage shed was just under 2 hours. Then we popped in to marks and Spencer’s to find the only bread for sale had no wheat in it. Then we went to get a taxi. To save time we went to drop off area hoping to grab a taxi there. As we did so one came in and hit a bollard doing a fair bit of damage to his car. He reluctantly took us explaining that a monopoly has been created by edinburgh airport to prevent Uber and other companies picking up passengers. It really is incredible that scotlands capital city welcomes visitors in to this shambles of an airport
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your review. The disembarkation and baggage delivery processes are the responsibility of your airline and their contracted handling agent. I'd encourage you to reach out to them as they may be able to provide you with a full response regarding this. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 11 months ago
Baggage reclaim is a disaster. Flown from Turkey late, I’ve landed 45 minutes ago and still 0/4 luggages.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Thank you for your review. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of the airline and their contracted handling agent. I would encourage you to reach out to the airline who will be able to look into this and provide you with a full response. Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 11 months ago
Edinburgh airport must be one of the very worst, it has been for several years and is getting worse. There is little or no respect from staff as you are steered through the departures system. You cannot use the lifts to reach departures, for no good reason. There are ridiculous queues just to get on the escalator, this is new. At the top of the escalator you are immediately into the sheep pen lanes, regardless of whether you have paid for fast track. Feels very like they enjoy being difficult and forcing people to be controlled, as respectful as they would be to sheep, non existent
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Travel to the airport is unacceptable. Can the airport explain why they have recently removed the second taxi operator at the aiport therefore making a MONOPOLY for taxis at the largest Scottish airport? Fares have jumped HUGELY. I used to get a taxi to/from airport for £20-22. In recent weeks it is £30+.....for a 6 mile journey!!! This is bad for customers, both local and international. The taxi company presumably have paid for the exclusive contract to the airport and therefore have upped fares to recoup the cost. It's a national disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Baggage services are a complete joke!! Been waiting 50 mins for bags and still no sign, further to that there are no staff….. this airport is useless
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of the airline and their contracted handling agent. I would encourage you to contact them directly who will be able to look into this. Kind Regards, Zoe Customer Support Team
Posted 1 year ago
Possibly the worst airport I have ever travelled from ! No WiFi and no phone signal - hit and miss if I could use my data - very annoying when the airlines me is asking you to check the app and the app will not load !! The toilets are disgusting- obviously not been cleaned recently- floor dirty, toilet had hair in in it and up the tiled walls. Hand dryer didn’t work ….. No options for healthy eating - just geared up to people who want to drink in dreadful chain pubs ……. Everything felt grubby - maybe as it is Sunday there are no staff ?! Currently sat in Hudson Grill - lots of uncleared tables - my table is sticky (the menu I had to prise apart due to food on it ) if you are happy with pubs and cheap nasty food then Edinburgh airport is for you !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Airport was OK But getting to and from there is a complete RIP OFF. If you take the tram from Princess Square, just off Princess Street which is very close to Waverley train station it costs £7.50 per person for a single ticket. The journey is 14 stops, however if you travel two stops less to Cogarburn it costs £2.00 per person for a single ticket. I asked a tram supervisor why the massive discrepancy in cost and was informed that the charge was made by the airport. In addition to this the food and drink costs are very high, even for an airport. The final nail in the coffin was the fact that there is a £6.00 supplement added to each taxi ride from the airport. Therefore a £9.75 short, three mile taxi ride then becomes a £15.75 trip. I have travelled to and from this airport on several occasions but this will be my last time. I do not appreciate being exploited and will take my custom elsewhere.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I can confirm it is the individual transport companies that set their fares. I would encourage you to contact them directly. Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 year ago
It's important to differentiate between arrivals and departures. Arrivals are acceptable, not good but acceptable. But the chaos around departures is in a class of its own. Its all so badly planned. There are so many problems, it would take a while to list them. But suffice to say that it is a noisy, chaotic experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I forgot to put my phone in the security tray. I told the official at the body scanner to which his response was "fucking hell". I appreciate they were busy but that is unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The airport security staff at Edinburgh airport on the morning of 02/04/2023 seem unaware of the correct procedures for passengers with medical devices to comply with the Civil Aviation Authority (CAA) guidelines. The CAA guidelines detail that medical devices should not be removed and another search method to be offered. As the first female officer did not know what to do with a passenger wearing an insulin pump and CGM sensor and asked her female supervisor for advice who then told me either to remove the medical devices and go through the scanner or wait for a room to become available for a search. I challenged this and was told by the supervisor that this was CAA policy. As I have flown in the last 12 months through Edinburgh, Glasgow, Heathrow, Gatwick, Zurich, Doha, JFK, Puckett, Innsbruck, & Turin airports which all did not require the medical device’s removal and was offered a hand pat down/ hand held metal detector to be used for checking that I complied with the security requirements due to the medical device I wear. These security staff at Edinburgh airport were not adequately trained to ensure compliance with CAA guidelines and to help passengers.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Obnoxious staff at security. Do they have any training in customer service? I doubt it.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Airport security staff very inefficient and rude. Not enough staff manning this area. Worse security checking at any airport I have been to. Why does Edinburgh not use mobile corridors to the planes.thus would be a lot easier than going across concourse[dangerous] and climbing open metal stairs that are very slippy when wet or damp.i dread to think what visitors arriving in Scotland go through treated like criminals when trying to get through the automated passport check. Too few of them a nd they dont all work. Staff in thus section are very rude when asked for help.one lady in this section was nice.waiting for luggage here as well is shocking the length of time it takes for cases to come through. Aleaf is needing to be taken from other airports that run efficiently abroad.travellers are what keep the airports open ,so much for Edinburghs customer service !
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Today I flew back from Barcelona, our plane sat on the tarmac for 20minutes, whilst we waited for a space, we then had a further wait for staff to bring steps and provide access to the terminal building. The Ryanair staff kept us informed, but this further delay added to the earlier delay in leaving Barcelona
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your flight was delayed by operational procedures. I can confirm the process of disembarkation of the aircraft is out with of Edinburgh Airport's control, as this is the responsibility of your airline and their handling agent. I encourage you to raise your feedback with them via their official channels. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 year ago
Hi, I have travelled through Edinburgh airport four times in the last six months. I would like to say the staff are lovely. Very friendly and helpful in a casual but very effective manner. Make you feel it was a good decision to travel through their airport. I will be using it whenever possible and recommending it to friends. Thank you Edinburgh staff
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Checking in baggage on outbound flight to Paris was terrible. Q’d for nearly 1hr 50 which is unacceptable. What’s more unacceptable was that people further back Q occasionally got pulled out to use self check in baggage terminals. We eventually did self check in but that was a nightmare too. 5 of us in a party & 4 of us had wrong names come up on screen from scanning passport!!! Apparently this is a known problem & you just have to keep rescanning till correct name appears -REALLY!!!!! On return flight we also had to wait 1.5hrs for baggage which is again unacceptable!!! Paris CDG experience was SO much BETTER - really efficient, quick & also helpful staff.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Longer to get off the flight than the flight duration. I fly weekly. This week it took just over an hour to fly from Schipol to Edinburgh. Then at least over an out to get off the flight and then through security. I heard one American gentleman on the phone “Edinburgh is the most incompetent airport” C’mon get a grip Edinburgh! Edinburgh is one of the most iconic cities in the world and first impressions count for people visiting Scotland. The other day we came through the exit and went to M&S and the staff members first words weren’t “hope you had a good flight? Welcome”. But “ Wanna Baag” Embarrassment to Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Third world standard - incompetent staff and very poorly conceived traffic flow through security area. Need to employ people with some common sense and intelligence to redesign it
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Arrival waited an hour of luggage. No staff to answer or help with questions. Departure was a nightmare. The rudest staff and security personnel. Picked apart every piece of carry on bags. 4 ounce jar of heather honey sealed ??? Left back. Everyone was getting the same treatment which meant very long lines with long wait times. I was given three claim tickets for a 4 ounce jar of honey and a few other items that was never going to be mailed to me after a reassuring yes it would be mailed with no explanation on what to do with claim tickets. I was in tears after the lines. No one cares at this airport. An elderly man was being treated in a very unacceptable way in front of me. A traveler next to me waiting in the security line apologized for staff and airport. She was a citizen of Scotland and was clearly embarrassed for the way the staff was treating people. The airport experience was horrific. Traveled many places but this was the absolute worst. This is a review but it won't matter. Nothing will be done to fix anything. I tried follow-up calls after our experience at the airport, but the response was not helpful. It was ridiculous. I wish there was a zero to give for a rating a 1 star is to generous.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.5 based on 1,336 reviews