Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.6 Rating 1,295 Reviews
63 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston
Edinburgh
EH12 9DN

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Customer service is diabolical, particularly at security. Unhelpful, surly staff. I will travel to another airport in future after 2 bad experiences despite living in Edinburgh. Writing this review is pointless as you clearly don’t listen to your customers anyway.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
2 issues. 1) Departures and security not fit for purpose due to inability to handle number of passengers asked of it. 2) Baggage reclaim, on the last 2 occasions, this year, waited 1.75hrs and 1.5hrs respectively, for out luggage. Not acceptable and not fit for purpose. Baggage bands frequently jamming due mainly to large golf club type bags didn't help (technology is available and in place at other airports to stop or reduce this happening). Unfortunately, this is not new - Airport doesn't have the staff, the equipment or the will to deal with the number of flights and passengers asked of it. Fills me with dread having to go near the place - I use other airports, drive, use the train or the bus, where possible, compared to using Edinburgh airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Awful as per!!!! What’s going on with you Edinburgh Airpirt!????? Shouldn’t have to wait more than an hour for luggage!!!!! 😡
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear you experienced a wait for your baggage and I understand how frustrating this must have been. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of the airline and their contracted handling agent. Kind regards, Customer Support Team Edinburgh Airport
Posted 1 month ago
You have a 64% positive review??? Everyone I've spoken to has a negative opinion! The arrivals Hall in particular is a complete disgrace. Queues wind on for half an hour or so. This is surely a health risk in such a confined area! Even a staff member admitted he absolutely never flies from Edinburgh. Security in Departures is a shambles - the staff are friendly and (mostly) competent to their credit. I can't imagine having to work in that environment daily. Overall though, using this airport fills me with dread. Truly- an embarrassing introduction if you're visiting Scotland!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Waited over 2 hours for baggage at 2am not what you want after 5hr flight. Baggage area not big enough to handle all flights arriving, not enough seats, ladies toilets were disgusting (no toilet paper in some cubicles and floors dirty) god knows what visitors to the city must think. All that money doing airport up but it is a complete mess.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
1st October 2023, Easyjet flight from Antalya we waited 2 hours for luggage reclaim. The distance to walk from getting off plane and the amount of stairs to climb to reach passport control is totally unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Shambolic pedestrian walkway from long term parking to terminal. Being made to queue outside in the rain,while waiting to go upstairs to security check area. On return,alongside whole plane of passengers,waiting over 1 hour 30 minutes for our luggage to appear on carousel after it got ‘lost’ somewhere in the airport? Shambolic non signage for ‘walkway’ return to long term car park. Too small an airport,while trying to act all international. Roll on flights from any other airport apart from this wee shambles.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Just an absolute dump. I've travelled the world and have never seen such a shoddy, shambolic,embarrassment of an airport. The owners should be ashamed and I, as a Scot, am embarrassed every time I use it.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I use Edinburgh airport a lot but wish I didn’t have to place is a disgrace for a capital city.Flight arrives at least another every time before bags come out but u have made it so u get charged fortune for parking.So i will get a taxi oops airport dont have taxis just little cars with absolutely clueless drivers who then seem to make a price up after u have been told a price,and thats only if any vehicle is available 1.5 hours i wait for phc car to over charge me.Price when was taxi into town £30 at most now they charge £43 hows that.Your airport is a disgrace time to sort it out
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
What a joke of an airport. I live in a 3rd world country and I think we are misclassified. I would never expect our airport to operate at the level that was experienced at EDI. My wife and kid were stuck at the airport for over 4 hours waiting for their bags. The only way to get any assistance was by essentially starting a protest in the baggage hall after 2 hours. No one offered any assistance and the number on the baggage claim went unanswered for hours. It was pathetic and I will never waste my money again traveling to EDI. It is shameful and quite frankly embarrassing. Thank the Lord I live in the 3rd world where we actually get things done.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I use Edinburgh airport regularly, as it is only a 30 minutes drive from my home. The service through security etc. and the shops on offer airside are pretty decent. However, on arrival from an incoming flight, the state of the place is embarrassing! The entrance and journey to baggage reclaim is a filthy, basic mess. Where there are carpets, there is always a build up of fluff along the edges! I have never seen this area looking clean. When we arrived the other night, the walkways were dark and unlit. Eventually, when we were halfway along each corridor, the light sensors triggered. What impression of our country international visitors must have on arrival via these third world style, makeshift buildings and tunnels is hard to contemplate. Their expectations must be pretty low. Additionally, they are unlikely to save some spending money for the airside shops on the way home, as they will have gained the impression there will be nothing worth buying! Brutal.....
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I think this is, by far, the worst airport I have ever used. How disabled passengers are meant to use it is beyond me. It's probably best to avoid if at all possible.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
The worst airport in the UK. Planes always have to wait for a stand . Steps never ready . No escalator to leave - you have to use steps . Not enough staff on baggage reclaim so you wait for ever. If at all possible avoid flying from here - head to Newcastle . Edinburgh airport is cutting costs ready fir its private equity owners to sell. Embarrassing.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
There is no point in listing the countless issues as nothing improves. My best advice now is to AVOID.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 months ago
We travelled to Dublin via Ryanair on wed 16th aug... I'd hurt my knee a couple of days before but managed to limp my way to bar one for a lovely breakfast and on to the gate...we asked at the gate about assistance for the Dublin side...but unfortunately it wasn't organised..we managed to get it organised once over there but it took 45 minutes...on our way back it was easy to organise the assistance on the Dublin side and they must have organised for someone to meet us from the plane with a wheelchair...it had been a long day and it was midnight when we touched down (delayed) your man was fabulous...took us right to our car...we were sooo grateful...
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
This airport is brutal and awful. Signage to get to the correct entrance is confusing, once you get in to the airport it's even worse, hardly any signage and unclear language on the ones you can find, even the parking staff weren't clear where we should park! Turns out short stay is a long long walk to terminal with no shuttle bus or provision for those with limited walking ability.The airport itself is not fit for purpose, dirty, no seating , ridiculously organised security. Will never use again and have since ensured several friends and family avoided this airport. This is a Scottish disgrace.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a pleasant experience. We strive to deliver a seamless journey for our customers and it’s disappointing to hear when this doesn’t happen. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 months ago
£5 Is too much to drop off someone,kinda over a barrel as no option for disabled/anyone who doesn’t want to pay £5 for two minutes. Further to this was charged £20 for an hour in short stay,who earns £20 an hour. Total rip off,taxis an issue also.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Edinburgh airport is a complete disaster. Its so disorganised, unsafe and probably breaking all rules regarding security of travellers. It's so embarrassing from the time you step in until you leave , that is if you can get a taxi . Shame on you Edinburgh airport, why are you not accountable like the rest of us on proving an inadequate service to public service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Having flown into airports all over the world I can say with absolute confidence that Edinburgh is the most run down and 'not fit for purpose' airport I have ever been to. The list of problems is too long to go into but where Scotland meets the world is a shameful embarrassment. Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
What an absolute nightmare coming of flight from Lanzarote Wednesday morning 2 am. Must have been at least five flights all coming in at one time it was like been in a third world country coming through passport control. We were herded in like animals kids screaming tired parents never seen this in any airport before. Baggage all lying about that has been there for months e passport control not working properly. Four out of five people sitting at there desks talking to each other waiting on families to come through why not just let other people go through these desks they are not getting used.will never use this airport again absolute joke coming out people lying all over the place obviously flight delays get your act together Edinburgh airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.6 based on 1,295 reviews