Edinburgh Airport Reviews

3.8 Rating 1,206 Reviews
67 %
of reviewers recommend Edinburgh Airport
Read Edinburgh Airport Reviews

About Edinburgh Airport:

Official reviews page for Edinburgh Airport, where Scotland meets the world.

Visit Website

Phone:

0131 357 6337

Location:

Edinburgh Airport, Ingliston

Write Your review

Tell us how Edinburgh Airport made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 17th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 1 star review on 16th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 15th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 5 star review on 13th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
Edinburgh Airport 2 star review on 12th June 2017
Anonymous
16
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
Edinburgh is the worst airport in UK easily. Full of slogans about how great it is but it’s endless waits - waits to check in, waits at security (rudest security staff ever), waits to get off your plane and the baggage reclaim is soooooo slow. They need taken over by someone than can run it well. The folk that run Newcastle airport know how to do it for example
Helpful Report
Posted 4 hours ago
I thought nothing could be worse than the experience of flying out of Edinburgh airport to CDG .. see other reviews for details, but I was wrong…flying back in was worse! Among the catalogue of issues I will highlight just one. When I bought my ticket where did I give your groundstaff the right to hold me on a locked crowded bus while they failed to cope with their responsibilities? If all you can offer is ‘management speak’ please don’t bother responding.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 days ago
They have handed off all Bagage handling to third parties. If a bag is misplaced or lost, it may take you days to weeks to get the issue resolved if you are lucky. The third party handlers get paid the same wether you get your bags or not…so they really don’t care.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Expansion badly needed!!! The check-in and security check areas need to be at least 50% larger and have double the number of staff. Staff are friendly, especially given the mayhem in these areas. Way too many people crammed in like cattle. Poor ventilation. Ironically the retail areas are very spacious.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Airport assistant is shocking and we have used it twice in 3 months never seen such a sham. Lack of experience with complete disregard to passenger with disabilities. Rude and arrogant assistance staff when asked for transfer equipment and no idea how to actually use equipment. Shocking quality of service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Terrible baggage reclaim. Now waited over half an hour for cases at 3.25 AM
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
No seating facilities on ground floor. My wife and I had to wait for 11 hours due to a cancelled flight. Spent much of it sat on the floor. Not good for the over-60s.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 weeks ago
Be prepared for a very, very, very long wait at baggage reclaim. We landed over an hour ago and still no luggage!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
From flight landing to collecting luggage took over 2 hours. When plane landed, we got held taxi-ing for 30mins…no ground staff to greet us added another 15mins. Passport control had huge lines, another 45mins. Then waited at least 45mins for baggage. All in all absolute shambles. their slogan is ‘where Scotland meets the world’, what an embarrassment.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
It is strange that there are long lines at Security, Immigration, Baggage Reclaim, etc. and yet when you get to Duty Free you can sail through without any delay! How is that Duty Free can man their operation successfully and all other airport departments fail?
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Still on the plane waiting for ground staff to escort us to the terminal. Been waiting ages!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Security staff at Edinburgh Today . The level of sarcasm and rudeness when asking politely for help is a disgrace to Scotland . The friendly race ?? Come on Guys , you can do better ! Otherwise a pleasant experience within the airport.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Simply the most dreadful airport in the UK and I travel every week. Staff so not engaged and zero management. Making women with babies and disabled people walk through long snake lines to security even though nobody is waiting. Chatting, giggling and thinking they have power. So sad for an airport with potential. Please sort this airport out as civil servants having an easy time.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I can confirm that Women with children and disabled passengers do have the option to use the family lane. I will pass your feedback over to our security team. Kind regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Luggage reclaim is completely inadequate. It is slow, slow, slow. It is not busy. Our plane is only one in the hall. At time of writing this review standing in the luggage reclaim hall, we have been waiting forty five minuted and still nothing on belt. Completely unacceptable.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi there, We strive to deliver a seamless journey for all of our customers, and I appreciate how frustrating the lengthy wait for your luggage must have been. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of your airline and their contracted handling agent. Like many other businesses, handling agents are finding recruitment to be a challenge at the moment and unfortunately, they haven’t been able to bring new staff onboard as quickly as they hoped for. We’ve stepped up our own teams and where possible, Edinburgh Airport staff are being deployed to support the baggage handling process. This process can take a little bit of time as we must pull staff from our operation to help another and when we too are busy, it can be a challenge. Though it doesn’t make amends for your poor experience, please be assured that we are working with our partners to support their operation and recruitment drive. Thanks, Customer Support Team
Posted 1 month ago
Edinburgh airport need to do better. Bag drop area is chaotic, it is a challenge to even know which queue to join, nobody available to help. Security queues are a chaotic free for all, mainly because it is so slow and many people start to panic about missing their flight. Return flight and passage through arrivals was fine for us.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
The staff at the security area are absolutely appalling. Very child unfriendly and extremely rude. One member of staff even hit the head of my child with a tray and didn't apologise even though the child was visibly upset. Totally unnecessary as this is a customer service job and manners cost nothing. So disappointed as staff at edinburgh airport usually are very supportive for family travel. Please tell the staff the customer is king!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
I flew yesterday from Edinburgh to Amsterdam then Tel Aviv. I heard it was busy so arrived 3 hours before my flight. Check-in still did not open until 2h10mins before the flight. Took 1.5 hours to queue and drop off a bag. Not enough check-in staff on the desks, this was blatantly obvious. Security then took 25 minutes. Boarding went ok we were about 15 minutes late by then..but they allowed too many people onto the plane with large carry on bags for a full flight. Bags had to be removed and put in the hold. We then had to wait another 10-15 minutes for push back as no one was available. The KLM cabin crew were also remarking that it is obvious that there is a lack of staff at Edinburgh airport. Ended up with over an hour of delay in take off and my bag not making it onto my connecting flight, So no clothes change, toiletries etc now in Israel. Don't know when my bag will show up of how it will get it to me on an offshore platform. Edinburgh airport is now larger and handling more flights than before, but it is actually an embarrassment to Scotland with the apparent chaos at check-in and security.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear of your recent poor experience. The check-in, boarding and push-back process is the responsibility of each airline and their contracted handling agent and I would encourage you to contact your airline regarding the matter. Thanks, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 months ago
We arrived in plenty of time for our flight to LGW but the appalling and quite frankly dangerous security check caused many passengers to rush for their flights. There was no queuing system, it was a free for all and then as we finally got to scan our boarding pass we could only just get past the scanning gates before it was gridlocked with people, again. Worst of all, a security man kept shouting “move away from the gates” when there was no where to go, it was actually quite frightening with so many peoples crushed together. I have never experienced security like this dreadful shambles. It left a bitter taste after a wonderful trip.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of your recent experience. If you haven't already, please feel free to reach out to us directly and we will look into this for you: https://support.edinburghairport.com/hc/en-gb/requests/new Thanks, Customer Support Team
Posted 2 months ago
It took over an hour to get through passport control and pick up bag. Missed our bus, took a long time to walk to bus stop and only hourly service to Glasgow.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Hi there, Thank you for the review. I'm sorry to hear of your recent poor experience. Both of our arrival halls are managed by and are the responsibility of the UKBF. You are also welcome to fill in the UKBF online complaints webform: https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/border-force/about/complaints-procedure We strive to deliver a seamless journey to all of our passengers and I appreciate how frustrating the lengthy wait for your luggage must have been. The baggage delivery process is the responsibility of your airline and their contracted handling agent. I would encourage you to contact your airline as they will be able to investigate the matter with their handling agent and provide you with a full response. The bus services have been temporarily relocated due to essential works being carried out at the terminal forecourt. The works have been communicated across our social media, our website and we have temporary wayfinding located across the terminal. I hope future travel is on a more positive note. Kind Regards, Customer Support Team
Posted 3 months ago
My name is John Cree. I posted about my experience last night, 12/2/2022, on return from Innsbruck last night. To compound matters, when we tried to leave the multi storey car park there was a queue at the gates as the automatic number plate system wasn't working and nobody was answering the phone. Edinburgh airport you truly are a disgrace and the worst airport in Scotland.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Edinburgh Airport is rated 3.76 based on 1,206 reviews